AMA of Central PA Networking Social

Whether you are a college student or a C-level executive, if you are given the opportunity to network with others in your field through a professional organization, always take it. The art of networking with other professionals in your field has a lifetime of benefits. I had the opportunity to do just this at the Second Annual AMA of Central Pennsylvania Marketing Networking Social.

The American Marketing Association of central Pennsylvania hosted the Second Annual Marketing Networking Social at Shippensburg University. The reception took place on Tuesday, February 20 from 4 to 6 PM. This event is an opportunity for myself and other students from local universities to connect with marketing professionals, recruiters from various employers, and each other.

The Event

The event was hosted by the Shippensburg University Career Center in partnership with the American Marketing Association Chapter of Central Pennsylvania. The chapter invited faculty from the collegiate board, as well as other marketing professionals from within the chapter to attend the event.

The event kicked off with a discussion between Senior Director of Shippensburg Career Center, Victoria Kerr, and students, about the importance of networking and best practices. After that, we had the chance to practice these before being introduced to the alumni and being dismissed to network for the evening. I got to meet some incredible people, including faculty from the schools in attendance, and some recruiters from great potential employers for post graduation. I also got to explore the beautiful Shippensburg University campus. What a treat!

Along with the great conversation and connections made throughout the evening, the event included light hors d’oeuvres and sweets, courtesy of Shippensburg Career Center. They were delicious and quite popular!

 

The Benefits of Networking

Several students, myself included, from Messiah University Marketing Club attended the event, alongside club advisor and Professor of Marketing, Dr. David Hagenbuch. Dr. Hagenbuch challenged us to think about why we were attending an event such as this. He also asked us questions to get our minds going before arriving at the event. Dr. Hagenbuch discussed his thoughts on the benefits of networking for college students in the marketing field.

“Students who attend networking events have the potential of finding their next job, whether it’s an internship or a career position.  But even if that doesn’t happen, networking events are great opportunities for enhancing communication and interpersonal skills, as well as just meeting interesting people.” -Dr. David Hagenbuch,

As a senior in college, I have had the opportunity to attend many networking events for different organizations. I have never regretted attending one of these events. Even though it’s a long night, I always leave having had valuable conversation with many people. My one piece of advice to any readers wondering about next steps after networking event is to connect on LinkedIn after the event as a follow up.

For my disabled readers interested in networking, I know it can be awkward, but don’t be afraid to go to these events. In order to succeed in life as a disabled woman in the marketing industry, I have learned that I have to push past the stereotypical awkwardness that others tend to apply to me and learn to be my authentic self. Those who want to have a truly diverse team or circle around them will open their doors to differently able workers. They will also prioritize accessibility and accommodation, that you may thrive as a member of the team.

The American Marketing Association of Central Pennsylvania

Messiah has been preparing Marketing Club members for our joining AMA of Central Pennsylvania for a while. Being able to have a professional organization like this recognize our campus as a chapter is a big deal, especially for a small Christian school. I have definitely enjoyed the benefits of this membership. Being a member of the American Marketing Association of Central Pennsylvania allows myself and other Messiah students to attend networking events like this one, connect with professionals in the field, and much more.

“…I’ve been on the board for less than a year.  Still, during that time I’ve met and gotten to work with many of the areas top marketing professionals.  It’s exciting to be around so many talented people who share many of the same passions I do.  I’ve also been able to leverage the connections I’m making for the benefit of my students.” – Dr. David Hagenbuch

The American Marketing Association of Central Pennsylvania hopes to host more events of this kind in the near future. For more information about AMA of central Pennsylvania, follow their Instagram, LinkedIn, or check their website. Both Shippensburg University and Messiah University have American Marketing Association chapters which will host events in the coming months.

Dr. Hagenbuch has always pushed myself and my classmates to go out of our comfort zone and network, in order that we might build professional. Beyond this, he has also taught us in many ways how to use our marketing knowledge in a Christian and ethical manner. One of the ways he has done this is through, using his blog, Mindful Marketing  Throughout each of the many classes, he teaches in the marketing program, we are always being challenged to discern, whether or not a marketing practice or principal is mindful or not. As a member of the AMA, I believe that the marketing program here at Messiah will be able to truly blossom under his leadership, as we are led to learn and connect with others, both inside and outside of our university and discipline.

Where Will I Go?

In the words of Disney Princess Moana, “There’s just no telling how far I’ll go “. As I stated above, I am a senior and preparing to graduate in May 2024. As I prepare and begin my job search, I do not know what my future holds. However, I do know this my experience here at Messiah as a marketer, and a student has been beyond impactful. I have gained certifications, connections, and experiences that will impact and last a lifetime. No matter your disability, you can always network, and you can always learn. The marketing world is always changing; therefore, we must always learn and understand the changes, in order that we may move ahead of the trends to delight our customers, and whatever sense that role is fulfilled.

Through my curriculum, over the course of my four years studying marketing, I have gained invaluable leadership knowledge, which has helped me overcome challenges, both in life and in the classroom. The AMA has both professional and collegiate chapters all over the country for professionals to stay in touch and involved in this ever-changing industry. For my readers who are not currently or planning to be marketing professionals, I encourage you to seek out the professional organizations within your discipline. This will give you a group of people from across the country to serve as mentors and role models. It also gives you the opportunity to help someone who may be in a position that is similar to where you came from. Even before you graduate, spend time connecting with some people who are experienced in your field, so that you can begin learning and understanding the field you were going into.

  As usual, stay tuned for more! I’ve got some very exciting things coming your way very shortly! Don’t forget to like this post, Sherrick, with your friends, and commen

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started