Breaking barriers: leading as a blind individual

Are you a leader or a follower?

Although I may be only a rising senior in college, it is never too early to learn how to become a leader. Over the past few years, I’ve had several leadership trainings, including an incredible experience as an intern and member of the HersheyPark leadership development internship program level one. during the program, each student was placed in a department, and given a position at Hersheypark. We worked full-time, and on our days off, received a 12 week intensive leadership course through Shippensburg University. At the end of the summer, we all graduated with a certificate and leadership development from Shippensburg University. it was truly an honor to be a part of this program. Shout out to Marie Conley from Conley Consulting and Shippensburg University for creating and directing this incredible opportunity year after year. If any of my readers are in need of an internship for summer 2024, I highly recommend it.

An on the job photo at ZooAmerica, my position during the program

However, as a disabled individual, and a woman in the workplace, I will face many barriers. I am grateful for the trainings I’ve had over the years, and I hope I can receive more in preparation for my entry into the workplace just a year from now. I aspire to be a fair and inclusive leader, who respects people of all ranks and abilities, and gives each person a chance to shine.

Some may consider my disability to be a disadvantage, but for me, it gives additional experiences and challenges I can draw from in order to educate and enlighten others for the better. my disability also makes me a great advocate for others with disabilities in the workplace. Unfortunately, individuals with disabilities have a much harder time getting hired for jobs, despite the Americans with disabilities act, and the work that has been done to make the workplace an equal opportunity. The good news is that work on this issue has not stopped, and most states have agencies that disabled individuals can contact for assistance and advocacy tips for in and out of the workplace. Many of these agencies can help with things like assistive technology, orientation, and mobility training, and locating transportation services.

Me all dolled up before the scholarship awards banquet at the national Federation of the blind Ohio State convention in Cleveland

One great resource is the national Federation of the blind. The NFB is a nationwide organization comprised of a national affiliate and state affiliates, which each have their own chapters for each general area. But National Federation Of The Blind has a wealth of resources, and also works very closely with state and national governments to solve problems faced by blind/low vision individuals everywhere.

Last year, I had the honor of serving as a secretary for the Ohio Association Of Blind Students. Even as a student, it is very important to seek leadership opportunities so you can learn and be prepared for the workplace. Internships with leader ship curriculum built in our another incredible wait to gain experience.

If you have any questions for me, or are interested in further discussing this topic, or any of my previous topics, please reach out!

Do you have topics you want me to talk about? Fill out the contact form or drop a comment! I love hearing from my readers and posting about things YOU are passionate about!

As usual, give this post a like, drop a comment with your thoughts, and share with your community using #BlindWandererMTKG !

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started